It is finished!

Uncertainty – it is a miserable state to be in!

Since last May, when unemployment for us entered into our lives once again, we have been playing the waiting game. Waiting to see if a job opportunity would open up in Austin; and after a couple of months, more waiting in Boulder. Then when Rob had hourly work in Colorado, it was always waiting to see just how much work would come in each week. Wondering if potential projects would turn into confirmed contracts and thus insured income. Things would fall through and we often thought we would come back to Austin because employment opportunities weren’t presenting themselves.

And with matters of our Austin home, potential buyers and renters continued to remain just that, “potential.” Nothing was ever for certain. And I had been growing weary of holding out hope for much of anything these days. Nothing is ever a done deal, there is no true security, plans fall through,and circumstances change (sometimes for the worse).

At least that is how it goes in this world.

But the other morning when I was entering into my morning quiet time, on the edge of tears and feeling near to the end of what I am mentally capable of enduring, I was reminded of one thing that is for certain.

The words “It is finished” came to mind, and I had an overflow of joy and peace fill and flood my heart.

Those final words Jesus spoke in the redemption of man mean everything to me in times like this! My treasures can not be in the things of this world, where moth and rust destroy, where thieves break in and steal, where people lose their homes, jobs, and lives…. My hope is and must ultimately be in something greater. And I can have that hope, all because of what Jesus did on the cross. It will never change or be undone. It is finished!

“In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.” John 16:33

Amen for that, my heart can be at rest.

This entry was posted in faith,, quick and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It is finished!

  1. Julie P. says:

    Love this!! Thank you for sharing your heart!!

Leave a Reply

