oh my – an attempt to redeem myself

Well shoot, so my blogging efforts for the week are already off to a rocky start. Not only did I miss posting yesterday, but it was also brought to my attention that my first post on Monday caused reason for alarm.

I know I can be somewhat naïve at times and look at life through these cheerful little lenses, where folks’ intentions are pure and there is goodwill of man. Unfortunately that is not always the case in the world we live in and I really should work at being more aware of the ugly reality of the way things are.

With the post “funny search engine results” , I had laughed at the assumed innocent and random seeking that brought someone to my site. But I didn’t go the extra step further and consider “WHY??????” would someone want to find internet results of little kids in their underwear (and in the mud, as if it isn’t wasn’t “dirty” enough already). When someone pointed out what I had failed to consider, I was like UGH! And I felt the physical jolt inside my soul as the metaphorical ton of bricks hit me in full force! The red flags went up and mortification sent chills through my bones. That initial amusement I had felt on Monday died immediately leaving me feeling completely and utterly disturbed.

So if you had felt any embarrassment for me and what I was unsuspecting of, know that I have seen the error of my ways! I have also changed the title of the post to “Disturbing search engine results.” I am not sure if that is a breach of blogging etiquette, or if there is such a thing, but I felt the need to make amends.

I don’t want to be considered “one round short of a loaded magazine” to the neighbor/friend that pointed it out (one who is always on the look out at protecting his family), even though he probably already has his suspicions, and even more so now :-) I really do want to be alert, because unfortunately life is never completely safe. I don’t want to live in a paranoid mindset, but I am learning there is a need to be ever aware of potential threats and that I need to take more caution in my day-to-day activities.

And maybe in all my catch-up up blogging, I’ll post more on the two defensive pistol classes (12 hours worth) I have recently taken at KR Training. That way, any more sickos that end up on my site searching for inappropriate content, might get the hint that they should not dig around any further. Because someday I will have my CHL and I will be able to quote Sandra Bullock from the movie Blind Side when she says, “You mess with my son, you mess with me. I am a member of the NRA and I am always packing!”

But first on the priority list are the family/memory type posts :-)

This entry was posted in low, quick. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to oh my – an attempt to redeem myself

  1. foo.c says:

    Don’t let it upset you. I think you are a great mom and freighbor (I just made that word up) and your mags are always full as far I’m concerned. :)-~

  2. Leah says:

    if it makes you feel any better, I probably wouldn’t have thought much of it either. :)

Leave a Reply

