Homemade Deodorant – it’s really not that crazy of an idea…

About four years ago, Rob’s sister Meghan introduced me to the book Nourishing Traditions by Sally Fallon. And it has really shaped our eating habits and grocery shopping in a positive way ever since. Refraining from any dairy product that is labeled ‘reduced fat’, slowly (but surely, one change at a time) eliminating processed foods and, instead, buying wholesome base ingredients to cook and bake with are the main changes we have been making. I still have a long way to go in this. But I am pleased to be able to look back and see just how much improvement has been made and to see the better habits we have since been developing.

I have to admit it was hard to have just one book be my motivator in keeping up my progress at changing the way we eat (especially when you get so many contradictory messages from other sources), so I was so pleased to run across this kitchen stewardship blog last year. The author is a huge supporter of Sally Fallon and she actually helps you, baby-step by baby-step at a time, make weekly changes that fall in line with much of the wisdom in Nourishing Traditions. But what I also love about this blog, is the other bits of healthy living aids that are provided. So many topics are covered and therefore I am now challenged with practical ways to make improvements to our way of living in more than just the area of food.

I have been working for the last couple of years on modifying our eating habits to promote healthy living, but I shied away from learning how I should also be making changes in the topical products we use. I knew that once I started learning more about the harmful effects so many common toiletries can have on our bodies that I would be completely overwhelmed!! But thankfully, this kitchen stewardship blog is helping me carry on the same approach I have with our eating and by guiding me to make little changes to other areas, one step at a time. So when a post she had done on homemade deodorant resurfaced again in one of her recent blogs, I felt like it was time to move in the direction of modifying some of the toiletries we use.

Here is the link to her post: homemade deodorant
adding this update on 1/6/11: I saw she reposted it again today, with a few pieces of additonal advice: update on homemade deodorant

She makes it super easy to carry out (and makes a super convicting point about the hazards of antiperspirants) and it is super *inexpensive! Do you see that I am trying to help you see that this was a ‘super’ idea I followed and not a crazy one :-)

Or if you just want the steps/recipe without all the extra reading, then here is what you need to do:
1) Mix about 1/4 cup baking soda and 1/4 cup cornstarch in a small bowl.
2) Add coconut oil, a Tablespoon or so at a time, until all the dry ingredients have been mixed in. I find it takes about 4-6 Tbs.
3) Optional: If you’d like more scent, add a few drops of your favorite essential oil at this time. (I have not done this yet)
4 )Make sure your coconut oil is in its solid form. It has a 76 degree melt point, so you may need to refrigerate it first for a short time if it’s warmer than 76 degrees in your house.

There was a suggestion that you could store this in an empty deodorant container. But I found it easier to just keep it in a little (and pretty) glass jar. Then I take a small amount out and and rub it on each morning. I have been using it for almost two months now and have had no complaints on its effectiveness. And I actually believe that at the end of the day I am more pleasant to be around; in the body odor sense, i.e. As I can’t always guarantee my mood :-)

So be it crazy or not, I am sold on this change!! Rob is still hesitant to follow suit, but he can’t offer a valid reason on why, other than it being just ‘too weird.’ Weird, yes. I can see that. But I’ll take weird if with it comes healthier and effective and more cost friendly!

This entry was posted in recipe and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Homemade Deodorant – it’s really not that crazy of an idea…

  1. asuh says:

    I don’t think you’re crazy . . . but I did start laughing aloud as I read how you applied this deodorant to your body :)

    • jvanvleet says:

      that is so funny, I don’t even think twice about the odd application method anymore. It has become 2nd nature. But I can recall a mental hurdle I had to overcome when I first started doing it :-)

  2. Meagan says:

    Just today my deodorant fell out and crumbled into pieces, so this post is very timely! I’ve been wanting to switch to a natural deodorant and have found the store-bought ones don’t work on me. Hopefully this one will!

    • jvanvleet says:

      Meagan I had even thought about you when posting this because you are now a nursing mom. In the linked post of the recipe, the author even has a blurb that says, “For nursing mothers, there’s a serious change in my peace of mind now that I don’t cringe when baby’s hand works its way up into my armpit. Well…I still cringe, but I’m not worrying about toxic chemicals finding their way into her mouth!” I hope this one works out for you and we still need to meet your little girl!

Leave a Reply

