clad in fairytales

I have so much fun reading books aloud with the girls. Most of the time, this is done at breakfast or lunch around the table when they are eating (that way Dee and Gracie sit still and listen well, for the most part…) We get to talk about the plot, the characters, the lessons we can learn, and the unfamiliar words we come across.

Discussion over the new words is quite an entertaining part of this time because, on most occasions, I am learning with them. We often get out the dictionary and look them up and talk about how we would use them in our own sentences and conversations.

By the way, I still haven’t decided if I like it when Rob is at home while we are doing this. I know he is often back in the office chuckling over my attempts of word pronunciations that I have never had to utter out loud before. I will quiz him later about how I should say something and then we get a great laugh over this challenge I seem to have in speaking. However, in my defense, words like ‘totalitarian’ and ‘regime’ ARE hard words to say if you have only read them before, right? (oh and in case you are curious, those type of words don’t come up in our chapter books we read, but surface often when we daily go through this awesome almanac my mom gave us. I would encourage everyone to check it out!)

Anyways, the word ‘clad’ came up recently when we were reading through Tom Sawyer. I gave my best attempt at explaining that word to them and we talked about it for a bit. It was clever of Halle to make the observation that were often dress-up clad. This is so true, because from the moment they wake up there is the morning ritual of going into the dress-up box and putting on some costume to play in.

And here are my girls, clad in fairytales dining with me at breakfast this morning

mermaid Dee

princess Gracie

And for your reading pleasure, here are some of the ways Mark Twain used this word (oh and do I love his writing!)

“Now appeared Joe Harper, as airily clad and elaborately armed as Tom.”

“…rows of small boys, washed and dressed to an intolerable state of discomfort; rows of gawky big boys;snowbanks of girls and young ladies clad in lawn and muslin and conspicuously conscious of their bare arms…”

“Away in the middle of the night a wild peal burst from the village bells, and in a moment the streets were swarm ing with frantic half-clad people”

“He was unkempt, uncombed, and clad in the same old ruin of rags that had made him picturesque in the days when he was free and happy. ”

Aren’t those great lines!

This entry was posted in family, quick. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

