Dinner Table Deception

This is what Rob and I caught Halle doing during a family dinner the other night, hiding her book underneath the table so she would not have to take a true break from reading. Is this something to rebuke? : )

Although I do not approve of the sneakiness, my heart is still so pleased with this passion she has for books. And I don’t want to discourage it.

I once read a description of a character in a book that I liken very much to Halle when it says she was “a perceptive child who reads indefatigably.” And when you look up indefatigable, this is what you will find.

in·de·fat·i·ga·ble   [in-di-fat-i-guh-buhl:] adjective
incapable of being tired out; not yielding to fatigue; untiring.

That word so perfectly paints a very true picture of how she reads continually and without tiring. There is rarely a downtime moment that she is without some form of literature in her hand. Rob and I even caught her using the light of her watch to read through her Bible late one evening, long after the allotted time had been set. That is dedication in my book (defiance, yes that too – but it is the dedication that I like to remember!)

To this day Halle has read at least the following chapter books (I am certain there are way more, because her bookshelves are full of great things, but these are the ones I have made note of):

123 of the 146 Boxcar Children Series

I kept track of about 20 of the Nancy Drew Books (we get the majority of them at the library and I don’t do a great job of recording them when she finishes)

All the Chronicles of Narnia books except for The Vogage of the Dawn Treader

4 of the 5 books from the The Prydain Chronicles by Lloyd Alexander

All of the Meet Josefina, an American Girl series and a few of the Meet Samantha books

3 of the books from A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket

Fairy Dust and the Quest for the Egg, Fairy Haven and the Quest for the Wand by Gail Carson Levine

My Side of the Mountain and On the Far Side of the Mountain by Jean Craighead George

The Tale of Despereaux and Tiger Rising by Kate DiCamillo

Peter Pan by J. M. Barrie

Pinocchio by Carlo Collodi

The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame

Charlotte’s Web by E. B. White

and many of The Great Illustrated Classics

And she just turned 7 at the end of January! I feel so privileged to be able to watch Halle and her love for reading. I can only hope it continues to grow all the more (oh and that Dee and Gracie also have this same delight in books as well)!

Happy is he who has laid up in his youth, and held fast in all fortune, a genuine and passionate love of reading.
~ Rufus Choate ~

The more that you read,
the more things you will know.
The more that you learn,
the more places you’ll go.

~ Dr. Seuss ~

He ate and drank the precious words,
His Spirit grew robust,
He knew no more that he was poor,
Nor that his frame was Dust.
He danced along the dingy ways
And this Bequest of wings
Was but a Book. What Liberty
A loosened spirit brings!

~Emily Dickinson~

*******

And a huge plug for a book that does an excellent job at encouraging families to read is this. You will certainly do well to check out (and read) Honey for a Child’s Heart by Gladys Hunt!! We have been slowly working our way through all the annotated lists she recommends for youth literature. I just can’t say enough great things about this book; it is so helpful in ‘the imaginative use of books in family life.”

This entry was posted in Halle, quick, reading, and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dinner Table Deception

  1. julespaq says:

    So if you had to choose one book series to start Rilyn on, what would it be? I don’t mind if I have to read it with her first b/c the words are too hard.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Wonderful little mind Halle has!!!

  3. Nonnie says:

    Nanan must be egging her on!!! Definitely after her own heart ….

  4. asuh says:

    I have maybe 100 Babysitters Club books at my parents’ house – do you think she’d be interested in that series?? Did you read any of them? I can’t remember much about them except that I couldn’t put them down :)

Leave a Reply

