it is consumable, but not desirable for eating (a recipe for soup…)

I was so excited today because this was the first time ever that I was officially going to execute a menu plan that would carry me through the next seven days! Last week, I had put together 5 different recipes and acquired all the ingredients for the dinners I wanted to make. And this day was to mark the beginning of a new habit of meal planning I have wanted to (but not yet committed to) adopt into our home for many months. The much looked-forward-to Monday meal was one a friend had introduced to me years ago when we were back in San Antonio, called Cauliflower Soup with White Truffle Oil. And even though I loved it that first time, it was not quite a winner with Rob when he tried it back then. But I concluded his dislike was because I had failed to mention it was a cauliflower based soup before he took his first bite. Because of the color and creaminess, he had wrongfully assumed it it to be potato-related. And, well… when you take that first slurp with an expectation of one taste in mind, you will be left with a very disappointed palate when the real thing (even if it was vanilla ice cream) is not what you were anticipating. So I had to rule that recipe out for future use.

But that was years ago. So with meal planning as my goal for the month and the fact that cauliflower was on sale last week, I decided to give it another go. I thought for certain Rob would enjoy it this time, as it had been more than 3 years since it was last served; and because this time I was now telling him what it was.

Not so.

And Rob’s comment of ‘it is consumable, but not desirable for eating” was his attempt at kindly informing me that (by his preferences) the dinner served tonight was rather unsatisfactory! I know he was trying very hard with his word choice to avoid any intent of ridicule at my meal. But perhaps he should take note (and follow suit) of the manner in which I have coached the girls on delicately and politely conveying that they are not thrilled about their dinner. “Mom (and that word is said with an enthusiastic smile) I see that you have worked really hard on this dinner; but I would rather not have any tonight. Thanks, though!” With those words, the point is taken that they don’t like what I have served and no harm is done to my pride. But fortunately for Rob, he can get away with less couth. Years of serving him less-than-desirable meals has equipped me with a sense of humor about it all. When the first disapproving comment from our early years of marriage was ‘maybe we should just give it to the dogs’ I grew to laugh at just how bad my cooking attempts could be : )

But the dislike he had this evening was not an issue of poor culinary skills, because this soup is amazing!! And Rob knew I thought that. So to try and redeem himself from his first comment, all he could come up with was this. “It is not bad-bad, but it is not good either.”

Thanks, Rob! Oh well, at least I am still well pleased with this soup and am happy to have all the left-overs to myself!!

And if there are any cauliflower fans out there (or folks that want to recruit some fans), I would highly recommend this soup to them!!

Cauliflower Soup with White Truffle Oil

Ingredients

2 tablespoons (1/4 stick) butter
1 large onion, finely chopped
1 pound cauliflower florets (about 5 cups)
2 14 1/2-ounce cans low-salt chicken broth

1 teaspoon white truffle oil* (see note below)

Preparations

Melt butter in heavy large pot over medium heat. Add onion and sauté until tender, about 8 minutes. Add cauliflower and sauté 2 minutes. Add broth. Cover and simmer until cauliflower is tender, about 25 minutes.

Working in batches, transfer soup to blender and purée until smooth. Return soup to pot. (Soup can be prepared 1 day ahead. Cool slightly. Cover and refrigerate.) Bring soup to simmer. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

Ladle soup into bowls. Drizzle truffle oil over. Garnish with chives.

Enjoy!

*I was able to find truffle oil at Central Market and I think HEB would have it as well (wal-mart, probably not). It is pricey, but you don’t need much of it and it tastes wonderful!

This entry was posted in quick, recipe and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to it is consumable, but not desirable for eating (a recipe for soup…)

  1. Nonnie says:

    I wonder, could you use coconut oil instead? And ignore Rob … he has his father’s genes!

Leave a Reply

