OMG!!

Please don’t be concerned or offended by the title I have used here; you have to know that the acronym above is not for anything of a blasphemous nature…

No, in my exclamation OMG is short for Oh My Grains!!!

Heard that one before? Probably not, it was a new one for me too. But it came out of my mouth because I was just so thrilled that I actually had a great success with a first-time undertaking at something (which rarely happens!) and it involved the use of grains.

This was an earlier post describing my first bread-baking attempts; I talked about the why of using freshly milled wheat as my flour source and I also shared some disappointing pictures of the first loaves that resulted in that endeavor. Since then, I have gained so much more confidence in my bread baking abilities using our grain mill. So I thought it was about time to experiment with a new type of grain and a new recipe.

At central market the other day, I picked up some rye berries in the bulk section and then followed a bread recipe that used a combination of rye and whole wheat flour. And oh my – was I pleased with the results!! The bread tasted mouth-watering incredible!! And with that first bite, my praise to grains naturally came forth.

The bread recipes I follow make between 4 and 6 loaves of bread (depending on the pan size) and I normally share a loaf each time I go through our milling/baking process. But this time I decided not to pass one along to a friend. And no, it wasn’t because I was being selfish and wanting to keep all the yummy bread to myself (well, maybe that could be an underlying factor in there… maybe…) The main reason was because I am hesitant about the ingredients I used. The rye bread recipe called for caraway seeds and the jar I had was from a spice rack that Rob and I received as a wedding gift – 12 years ago!!! When I pried off the lid, it still had a bit of aroma that was not unpleasing, so I thought – why not? I also needed to use molasses; and the bottle I found in my pantry had most certainly been in there, half used, for years (I know for a fact that it was one of our food items that came with us when we moved from San Antonio). Being unsure abut the health hazards of aged caraway seed and molasses, I wanted to keep these loaves for ourselves. And I will “selflessly” put myself at risk as I eat this batch of bread, daily with breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Fortunately for the “safety” of my girls, they thought the taste a bit odd at first and presently don’t want to eat any. Which is a good thing because it means more for me they are kept free from potential harm.

So if any of you Austin readers out there are fans of rye bread, let me know. I’ll be sure to add you to a delivery list for the future times that I make this bread : ) Then you too can cry out OMG!!

This entry was posted in high, Jo, quick, recipe and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to OMG!!

  1. Denise Moss says:

    YEA! Congrats on your early success!

  2. julie says:

    I must admit that I’m not a fan of rye bread-sorry. But I’m so glad that someone else uses their wedding gift spice rack!! My spices in our ‘wedding gift rack’ are only 8 1/2 years old, but I still use them too! :-) still haven’t got sick, so why not?

  3. asuh says:

    I have a jar of molasses that I used for a gingerbread biscotti recipe that I will not likely be using – I’ll swap you a near full jar (only a month old) for a loaf of bread! :)

    Angela

  4. Nonnie says:

    I am still using a jar of ginger bought back in the co-op days of Connecticut. Takes a long time for spices to wear out.

    And, um, when you come here later, will you, um, have baked a fresh batch? I LOVE rye!

Leave a Reply

