borrowing an idea from the ’12 days of Christmas’ song

But in this post, we have…

the 12 deals from CVS

About two years ago, I learned how to save big time (like rarely needing to pay any of my own money!) on all our toiletries, household items, and even diapers for twins by following some procedures at this moneysavingmom website. She posted ways to shop at CVS and Walgreens that allows one to minimize the amount you have to pay ‘out of pocket’ for items like toothpaste, toothbrushes, mouthwash, shampoo, soaps, lotions, razors, deodorants, make-up, kleenex, toilet paper, paper towels, laundry det, dishwashing liquid, cleaning supplies, etc. etc… you get the idea. In shopping this way, I am able to aquire so much stuff and pay barely anything! Some of the items are things I need and then some items were strictly obtained because they were deals that allowed me more spending power to get what I actually wanted. Thanks to CVS and their extra care card system, our bathroom shelves are often filled to the max with all sorts of things you can find at pharmacies. To keep the stock from taking over our house, we are often able to freely give away items to folks going on mission trips, or as donations for families in need, or just simply giving items away to friends because we have so much extra. Our cabinets were feeling a bit crammed lately as I had not put forth the effort to try and find places to take the overstock we had in glucose monitors (a regular deal at CVS often called a ‘money-maker’) and the abundance of many other items taking up space. But yesterday I got a call from a friend who is going on a mission trip to Mexico next week and she wanted to know if I had a few things I could pass on. Well, I had a bit more than just a few items. This is what CVS (and some Walgreens) shopping over the last couple of months allowed me to give away:

12 glucose monitors

11 feminine-needs items

10 deodorants

9 packs of razors

8 things for a healthy mouth

7 packages of pain-relief

6 band-aid boxes


5 eye and nose care products

<

4 bars of soap


3 body washes


2 bottles of lotions


and one kid sunscreen spray

This entry was posted in quick. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to borrowing an idea from the ’12 days of Christmas’ song

  1. Denise Moss says:

    You are funny :o) I’m glad all those glucose monitors will be put to good use!

  2. Julie says:

    love it! Very creative!

  3. Nonnie says:

    Ah, clever, clever Jo!

  4. Meagan says:

    You are awesome JoAnna! Thanks so much for all the donations! The Mexican families were very appreciative (and so was I when I realized I forgot my toothbrush). The 12 days of Christmas translation may have gotten lost on them :-), but nonetheless the products themselves are a huge help. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

