Not fair or More Fair?

Life’s not fair!!

Oh that familiar phrase; one that so easily serves as both a way to complain and a means to justify how things seem to go in life. And it is with the latter usage that I am speaking it more and more often as a way to warrant all unpleasant situations my girls continue to gripe about. Those three words, “life’s not fair” just seem to slip out of my mouth a bit too quickly these recent days. The frequent complaint, “why does SHE get to __ __ __ and not ME (fill in the blanks with whatever)?” is taxing as I hear it over and over again, umpteen times a day. So I throw out what seems to be the quickest fix to try and resolve those disputes; and I say, life’s not fair! I want to get into those little minds, as early as possible, that life doesn’t always go the way they want it to; because it doesn’t. And even though I refuse to use it in context of the unemployment situation (which has dragged on well past a month now), the increase in the use of these words towards my girls most likely reveals a part of me that ascribes our current woes to a bottom line reasoning that suggests “life’s not fair”.

But is it really? Is life not fair? Or is there a better way to look at the undesired we face and must accept in this world? But before you decide, I think you should read the following. It is a short story from a favorite author of mine, Brian Andreas (you can see his work if you click here)

They left me with your shadow, saying things like Life is not fair

and I believed them for a long time.

But today, I remembered the way you laughed & the heat of your hand in mine

and I knew that life is more fair than we can ever imagine if we are there to live it

Don’t you just love that? Didn’t it strike a new chord in your heart? I hope you say yes. Because that bottom line message is so true. Now I cannot even begin to imagine or comprehend what it means to lose a loved one, but I know that we can all recognize in times when we are saddened by what we cannot have or by what we have lost that there is a better way to see life. I do see the value in realizing that I have so much to be thankful for and that I am blessed in so many many ways. I need to be ever mindful of that; and to see the good I get to experience every day that I live!! And in an attempt to sum up with just two pictures (there were hundreds to choose from) my biggest source of blessings, here are 4 reasons why I am 100% in agreement with the beautiful truth in these lines.

Dee & Gracie
Rob & Hal

and I knew

that life

is more fair

than we

can ever

imagine

if we are

there to

live it

This entry was posted in Jo, quick and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Not fair or More Fair?

  1. julespaq says:

    That picture of Rob and Halle is PRECIOUS!!!! The twins one is too of course, but I’ve seen that one displayed in your house! Melts my heart!

  2. Shanna says:

    Amazing JoAnna…great post. I love that quote! I second Julie…what a great picture of Rob and Halle…it just ooozes love!

Leave a Reply

