Go, Lovely Rose!

Harvard Classics

So I scored this great set of “The Harvard Classics’ at Half Price Books yesterday (for just $19). I was so proud of my purchase!!! My first thoughts were how cool and scholarly they would look on my book shelf and how they would, hopefully, be something I could read and enjoy in the near future. Of course I had my hopes, that down the road, the great works of these famous authors would eventually appeal to Halle; but for the time being, I had bought them with only me in mind. Well, I completely underestimated my little 6 year old!! Even though time and time again, whenever we walk out of the library or the bookstore with something new, Halle will immediately engross herself with one of our literature findings, I never suspected that it would be these books (these “adult” books) that would strike her fancy. But they did! She wasted no time in looking over the stack (we are getting buckled in the car, mind you) and selecting one she thought would be of interest to her. After about 20 minutes of reading (I’m still driving) from the volume entitled “Chaucer to Gray” she started reading some lines, on her own accord, of something she had really liked.

This is what she enjoyed, from Edmund Waller.

Go, Lovely Rose!
Tell her that wastes her time and me,
That now she knows,
When I resemble her to thee,
How sweet and fair she seems to be.

Tell her that ‘s young,
And shuns to have her graces spied,
That hadst thou sprung
In deserts where no men abide,
Thou must have uncommended died.

Small is the worth
Of beauty from the light retired:
Bid her come forth,
Suffer herself to be desired,
And not blush so to be admired.

Then die–that she
The common fate of all things rare
May read in thee;
How small a part of time they share
That are so wondrous sweet and fair!

**************************

How I love my little Halle!!
What a precious moment it was to hear her sweet voice reciting these words. With appropriate pauses that correlated to the punctuation and near accurate pronunciation; it was an almost flawless delivery. Spoken like she had practiced over and over again.

What a wonder her little mind is to me!!! I am constantly in awe of what she appreciates and comprehends through the written word. I have so much to learn from her insight and can only imagine what the future holds for her!

This entry was posted in Halle, quick. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Go, Lovely Rose!

  1. halim9191 says:

    Remind me to give you a book for Halle to read – it’s a children’s version (but not really) of the Illiad and Odyssey – she will absolutely love it!

  2. Nonnie says:

    When next you come to visit, let’s pursue titles higher up the reading scale than what we have previously … definitely!

Leave a Reply

