Halle in Wonderland, Tweedle Dee, and Tweedle Gracie

With last year’s costume story, I did learn my lesson of ONE way NOT to be considered in the category of an over-controlling mom. I was never again going to force a themed costume on my kids for my own joy, in turn denying them their own. So, when I had another light-bulb moment of a costume theme come to mind that actually went over extremely well with all the girls, you could easily conclude that I was delighted. Thrilled, actually! When I mentioned Halle dressing up as Alice in Wonderland and her sisters following along as Tweedle Dee and Tweedle Dum (the name was later changed for obvious reasons…), she willingly agreed. Awesome!!! And in an instant, my mind was off in creative land, planning how to go about something home-made that would be wonderful and brilliant. Nothing was going to stop me.

At least I thought.

Strolling through a Target later that day, Halle’s eyes got really big when she saw a Sleeping Beauty costume. “Oh Mom! THAT is what I want to be!!” My inner monologue said this, “Grrrrr… Oh no you don’t… Look kid, I didn’t force you to agree to be Alice. You said ‘yes’ with a smile on your face. You WILL stick with this.” But I knew that wouldn’t go over well and I needed to come up with a “better” approach. Bribery! And that is what the words that were actually spoken from my mouth were filled with.

“Halle, how about we dress up as Alice for Halloween, LIKE YOU SAID (with kind and gentle emphasis on ‘like you said’) and afterwards, I will buy you a sleeping beauty costume. THEN! (this was said with much excitement; so that the anticipation of what could possibly be said next would be eagerly received with acceptance in Halle’s mind as something absolutely delightful) You can be Sleeping Beauty EVERYDAY (that last word came out in a magical way, making my proposal seem a fairy tale come true).”

Well it worked! And I didn’t feel all that guilty (a little, but not a lot). After all, she did first say ‘yes’ to MY plan. And isn’t there a verse somewhere about letting your ‘yes’ be yes and your ‘no’ be no????

And finally after all that, here are my happy storybook characters (and quite possibly my last year of themed costumes).


more pictures…

This entry was posted in Dee, family, Gracie, Halle, quick and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Halle in Wonderland, Tweedle Dee, and Tweedle Gracie

  1. Tiff's mom says:

    You need to publish your stories, they are great.
    I didn’t know you were also a master of creating costumes! The girls are so cute.
    Hope to see you sometime in the near future.
    Think of you ever time I see a pumpkin.

Leave a Reply

