a fun one with an onion

Because of this post from awhile back, Dee is for destruction, I started thinking of how I could continue on with other similar captions like these. I liked the whole idea of starting off with “Dee is for” and then following with an appropriate “d” letter adjective; one that would best depict a unique characteristic/quality of our daughter that truly sets her apart from her siblings in so many comical ways. And while I am likely to say these instances just show that Dee marches to the beat of different drum; Rob is one to question whether or not there is even a “drum” beating up there at all (in her head, that is…). You can decide whose train of thought you side with : ) But at any rate, I hope postings like these help you get a feel for all the fun scenarios we see that make life a joy with Dee. Here is the latest.

“Dee is for Different”

dif*fer*ent [dif-er-uhnt, dif-ruhnt] – adjective 1. not alike in character or quality; differing; dissimilar: The two are different. 2. not identical; separate or distinct: three different answers. 3. various; several: Different people told me the same story. 4. not ordinary; unusual.

I’m going with definition number four here to use with the pictures below. As it is “not ordinary” for a kid (or anyone!) to ENJOY eating raw onions. But apparently Dee does; and therefore I believe my usage is correct in the context here of describing something that is rather UNUSUAL.

As I was cutting up onions to saute for fajitas the other night, Dee was watching nearby and said she wanted to try some. With a little hesitancy on my part, I gave her a freshly sliced ring and waited expectantly for some sort of repulsive-type reaction. But none followed. She was happy with the first bite and so she finished chewing up and eating ALL of that sliced ring. And then, to my surprise, she requested another; and then another; and then another!! After about 5 whole onions rings had been consumed, she wanted something new on her palate and moved onto chips and salsa.

So maybe there are other “D” words out there to describe Dee’s new delicacy, but “different” is what first popped into my mind.

This entry was posted in Dee, quick. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to a fun one with an onion

  1. Nicole says:

    That is so funny! I bet she smelled fabulous that night! :)
    Is it your birthday tomorrow? Happy early birthday!!! Wish we lived in the same town, we could get girls together to celebrate…:(

  2. maybe a new potty training bribe? if you want this onion….

Leave a Reply

